Amity Institute of Biotechnology (AIB) was established in the year 2001. Over the years the Institute has seen exponential growth and has cemented its credentials both in the field of Teaching and Research. Our vision has been to impart quality education to budding biotech professionals and also foster strong interdisciplinary Research in frontier areas of biotechnology. Currently a team of 112 highly qualified and dedicated faculty members form the backbone for teaching and research endeavors at AIB. Faculty members involved in teaching and research at AIB have been trained in reputed institute not only in India but also worldwide.

AIB currently offers 16 academic programmes. The curriculum is designed keeping in view industry requirements as well as international standards. We also have International collaborators such as University of Abertay, University of Dundee, New Castle University have been involved in designing of syllabi to meet the ever changing scenario in biotechnology. Apart from providing in depth knowledge of core biotechnology subjects the students are provided with additional training in soft skills and foreign language, opportunities to explore extracurricular activities and mandatory military training provide a holistic and enriching experience to students. The institute also offers opportunities to students for Study Abroad Programs as well as 3 continent programs. Faculty members at AIB are involved in interdisciplinary research in frontier areas such as cancer, natural and synthetic therapeutic agents, Bioprocess Technology, Bioremediation, algal biotechnology, Bioinformatics to name a few. The grant of research activities includes Projects, Patents, Publications and commercialization products.

Faculty Achievement
  • Dr. Abhishek Sengupta has been selected to participate on the forthcoming Wellcome Genome Campus Advanced Course: In Silico Systems Biology, 3-8 July 2016, to be held at the Wellcome Trust Genome Campus. He has been awarded 100% travel grant from DST-SERB, Govt. of India for this training program.
  • Ms. Shweta Mahant has been selected to participate in the forthcoming Wellcome Genome Campus Advanced Course: Summer School in Bioinformatics, Monday 13 - Friday 17 June 2016 to be held at the Wellcome Trust Genome Campus. She has also been awarded 100% scholarship by DST, India.
  • Dr. V.R.Pooja has been selected to participate on the forthcoming Wellcome Genome Campus Advanced Course: Small molecule drug discovery, 19-24th June 2016 to be held at the Wellcome Trust Genome Campus.
  • Dr. Shoma Paul, Dr. V.R. Pooja & Dr. Sushmita have been granted north east project.
  • Dr. Biswajit Saha has received Humboldt Research Fellowship, Germany.
  • Dr. K. Sowjanya Sree has received Max Planck India Mobility Grant, Germany.
  • Dr. Nidhee Chaudhary, Dr. Sushmita Shukla & Dr. Aruna Kumar have received Biocare career/ reorientation advancement award from DBT.
  • Dr. Sheetal Shirodkar has received DST Young Scientist Award from DST.
  • 15 Faculty Members have received International /National travel grant for presenting in conference from Welcome Trust/DST/DBT/ICMR/Other Govt. funding agencies.
  • 20 Faculty members have attended international conferences.
  • 29 Faculty members have Attended 52 FDPs.
  • 43 Faculty Members have Govt. Funded Research Projects.

Students Achievement (UG & PG)
  • Ms. Anwesha Khanra has been selected amongst 15 Indian students for the IGCS Summer School 2016 on the topic: "Biomass and Coal-Two Carbon Fuels of Different Ages: German and Indian Perspectives" to be held during 09 July to 18 July 2016 at TU Berlin. She will get full fellowship including travel, accommodation and DA to attend this program.
  • Mr. Abhishek Arora, student of B.Sc. Medical Biotechnology, got admission in Oxford University with 100% scholarship.
  • Mr. Sriram, student of M.Tech. Biotechnology, got admission in Univ. of Queensland.
  • Pallavi Tyagi got the Ist prize for Poster Presentation at IIT Delhi Annual Technical Fest, 2016 and IIT Roorke Annual Technical Fest(18-20 March 2016).
  • Two students have got TWC, USA scholarship.
  • Meghana Parik, student of B.Tech Biotechnolgy selected for Young India Fellowship. She is also AFCAT, GATE qualified.
  • Harmeen Kohli, a scholarship holder at Amity university, got selected for M.Sc biotechnology, at Northumbria University, NewCastle, London.
  • Shubham Bansal got GATE AIR 19, and got selected for admission in IIT Kharagpur.
  • Sanjana Singh got selected in University of Illinois, Chicago.