13th Amity National Moot Court Competition held from 28 February to 02 March 2014

- One of the regular feature of Amity Law School, Delhi is organizing National Moot Court Competition every year which has a premier value among mooters. Likewise, this year also the 13th Amity National Moot Court Competition 2014 was held from 28th February to 02 March 2014 at F-1 Block, Seminar Hall, Amity University Campus, Sector – 125, Noida.
- 2. 27 teams representing various National Law Schools, Universities from all over the country participated in the competition.
- 3. The Inaugural function of the Moot Court was on 28 February 2014 at 4.45 p.m. in F-1 Block, Seminar Hall, Amity University Campus, Noida. It was inaugurated by Hon'ble Mr Justice R.S. Sodhi, Former Judge, Delhi High Court as Chief Guest and Mr. Neeraj Kishan Kaul, Senior Advocate, was the Guest of Honour, besides others.
- 4. There were four rounds of competition i.e, Premilinary rounds Quarter-final round, Semi-final round and the Final round where the Judges of the Hon'ble Delhi High Court adjudicated the rounds.
 - (i) The quarter final rounds were adjudged by Senior Advocates (Mr. Sohail Dutt, Mr. Meet Malhotra, Mr. Dhruv Mehta and Mr. Kirti Uppal) along with alumnis with long standing experience in National and International firms.
 - (ii) The Semi-final rounds were adjudged by the Judges of the Hon'ble Delhi High Court i.e. (Justice Mr. Najmi Waziri, Justice Mr. Sanjeev Sachdeva, Justice Mr. V Kameswar Rao and Justice Ms. Deepa Sharma.
 - (iii) The Final round was adjudged by senior most judges of the Delhi High Court, Justice Mr. Suresh Kait and Justice Mr. Jayant Nath.
- 5. The Valedictory function was held on 02 March 2014 at 4.30 p.m. in F-2 Block, Auditorium, Amity University Campus, Noida. Shri V S Sampath, Chief Election Commissioner was the Chief Guest and Mr. Rakesh Khanna, Senior Advocate & Additional Solicitor General of India was the Guest of Honour in addition to Mr. Lalit Bhasin, Honorary President ALSD & Advocate Supreme Court of India as Special Invitee.

6. Out of the 24 participating teams, National Law School of India University, Bangalore was adjudged the Winning Team and Dr. Ambedkar Government Law College, Chennai was the Runner Up Team. In addition, the following were adjudged as:

Best Researcher: Ms. Arushie Marwah, National Law

University, Jodhpur

Best Memorial: National Law School of India

University, Bangalore

Best Speaker : Ms. Ayushi Agarwal, National Law

School of India

University, Bangalore

Best Lady Advocate: Ms. Pratiksha Basarkar, National Law

School of India University, Bangalore

7. The following students of Amity Law School, Delhi were adjudged as the **Best Students for the year 2013 – 14:-**

1) **Ms. Akshita Bansal** : Vth year

2) Ms. Sameeksha Chawla : IVth year

3) Mr. Akshay : Illrd year

4) **Ms. Neerja Gurnani** : IInd Year

- 8. All awardees were given a rolling trophy, cash prizes, medallions, books and research access cards as prizes.
- 9. It gives me immense pleasure to mention that by the blessings of all well-wishers, the 13th Amity National Moot Court Competition 2014 was a Grand Success.

Prof (Dr) B P Singh Sehgal Director, ALSD

Prof (Dr) Isheeta Rutabhasini Faculty Convenor