Workshop on Drug Discovery and Formulation Development
Date: 2/23/2016

Workshop on Drug Discovery and Formulation Development

The first technical session started at 10:30 AM with the keynote address of Dr. Rakesh Shukla (Chief Scientist & Head, Division of Pharmacology, CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow). He addressed the gathering on “Journey of Drug Discovery Process”. His talk was full of information and at the same time was fundamental for the better understanding of student delegates. He started his talk from an idea of developing a drug and went on to its market launch in the most simplistic fashion. His talk was followed by interactive session and morning tea.

The subsequent technical sessions were addressed by Dr. C. Nath (Ex - Chief Scientist & Academy Professor (AcSIR), Head Division of Toxicology, CSIR-Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow), Dr. J. Sarvanan (Principal, PES College of Pharmacy), Dr. AK Dwivedi (Chief Scientist, Division of Pharmaceutics, CDRI, Lucknow) and Dr. AK Saxena (Deputy Dean Research (S & T), Amity University, Lucknow , Former Chief Scientist & Head, Cancer Pharmacology Division, CSIR – Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine, Jammu). The second technical session by Dr. C. Nath was followed by lunch at 1:20 PM. Parallel poster presentation session continued in the art gallery wherein 18 posters were displayed and presented. The session was judged by Dr. AK Saxena and Dr. C. Nath.

Dr. J. Saravanan spoke on Introduction to Drug Discovery by Rational Approach” followed by Dr. AK Dwivedi who delivered the talk on “Developments and Challenges posed by novel drug delivery systems”. The last technical session was addressed by Dr. AK Saxena on “Role of antioxidants in cancer therapy”.

The valedictory session started with the announcement of prize distribution for poster session. For Poster Presentation, Ms. Ruchi Yadav (Faculty, AIBL) Dr. Satyendra Kumar Rajput (Faculty, AIP, Noida) and Ms Khubhoo Singh (BBDU) Secured first, second and third places. At the end, Dr. Sajal Srivastava, Convenor NCDDFD 2016 & Dy. Director, Amity Institute of Pharmacy presented vote of thanks.